Thanksgiving 

We have all gotten through the Thanksgiving meal for this year and many of you as I am are still recovering from the travel, meal, and of course family.  I love cooking for family and friends and this year was a great success. We had an organic turkey with all the staple items of a traditional meal.  Patatoes, squash, sweet patoatoes and corn.  I prepared my turkey with just a few key ingredients including garlic, salt pepper, cumin, some aromatic herbs and a mirapois of onions celery and carrots.   I finished the turkey with a basting of maple syrup I processed last winter from my maple trees on my property.  I also included in our meal a delicious cauliflower dish inspired by eastern Indian cooking and a sausage dish inspired by the old worlds of Ireland and Poland.  I added my sauerkraut I prepared from a spring crop of cabbage in this dish.  My sauerkraut is inspired from the fermentation bible – The Art of Fermentation by Sandor  Katz.   A few Caribbean inspired appetizers of plantain tostones “fritters”.  The meal was awesome and we enjoyed several days of leftovers.   I am grateful to spend holidays with love ones who enjoy eating the food I prepare.  

This holiday has the foundation in history as the first meal of first people with the pilgrims.    I had a chance to visit the Plymouth Plantation in southern Massachusetts.  In this museum you can learn about these early 1600’s settlers and also of the native people who lived in southern Massachusetts.   The village has an early pioneer section and also a wampanaog Indian village.   The Natice people’s gardens are similar to the way I garden with crops interplanted and companion gardening.  You can see the three sisters design of corn, beans, and squash all planted in the same bed.  I was impressed with how the Native peoples were portrayed by authentic Native people.  This experience gave me an appreciation for our early American Indians and the pioneers with whom they shared their early meal.   History is a difficult pill to swallow and I tend to look at these holidays as a time of giving and a time be thankful and not to judge what happened over 400 years ago.   Thanksgiving dinner is about a time to share with loved ones and appreciate each other.  I am thankful and grateful this year for family, friends, and the spirit of sharing with everyone.​

Once theturkey was finished here is what it looked like just out of the oven.  ​

Leave a Reply

